Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Discuss, ask, or get help with engine and mechanical queries in here.

Moderator: Moderators

glennethwest
1.6 8v
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:22 pm
Location: Dewsbury

Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Post by glennethwest » Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:47 pm

Does anyone know how/why this happens?

I have read my ECU codes but when I click through to clear the faults and enter a milage in the 'service zone' I am told that there is a Communication Error and I'm sent back to the reading faults page.

I don't have problems with clearing any of the other sections in the ECU section.

Cheers,
Glen

User avatar
Doggy
Mod with a 2.2 HDi, De-Fapped!
Posts: 10028
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:49 pm
Location: Northants

Re: Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Post by Doggy » Thu Aug 19, 2010 8:29 pm

Not had that one, (I usually just exit the service zone stuff, as,[if I'm right], it's only there so legit users can upload data to Pug's server).

Are you winning, Glen?
2003 HDi 2.2 6-speed Exec Estate

glennethwest
1.6 8v
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:22 pm
Location: Dewsbury

Re: Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Post by glennethwest » Fri Aug 20, 2010 12:29 pm

I'm not winning I'm afraid. This is a transcript, for want of a better word.

Select 406 from first screen.

Select 406R.

Select Peugeot Planet 2000.

Enter buidl code - 9564.

PP2000 starts with cogs and does vehicle ID and config.

Select ECU configuration and services.

Select test by ECU and then Engines/auto gearbox.

Select Diesel and then RHZ Bosch EDC15C2.

I am asked to switch on ignition and connect computer to device.

Click Fault Reading which list my two faults. I click F6 and then F1 on each one to so that they are both read.

Then press F1 to go back to Tests menu and click on Clearing of fault code(s).

I am informed that I must have read the faults and I press F3 to confirm.

I am told that "Before erasing the fault(s), an after-sales zone must be completed. there are 5 service zone(s) already stored from a maximum of 50. I click OK and enter mileage in KM.

It then confirms my mileage and when I click on OK it comes up with Communication error.

User avatar
Doggy
Mod with a 2.2 HDi, De-Fapped!
Posts: 10028
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:49 pm
Location: Northants

Re: Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Post by Doggy » Fri Aug 20, 2010 12:39 pm

Right.

I'll try it with mine over the weekend and see where the difference is, (if any).

Thinks: Am I seriously considering deliberately creating a fault? :shock:

I'm either supremely confident or supremely stupid, (assuming there's a difference). :?:
2003 HDi 2.2 6-speed Exec Estate

glennethwest
1.6 8v
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:22 pm
Location: Dewsbury

Re: Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Post by glennethwest » Fri Aug 20, 2010 1:02 pm

Cheers.

I also clicked F7 when I was asked for mileage so that I could avoid it but that came up with Comm error too.

User avatar
mjb
Site Admin
Posts: 7972
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: Stoke

Re: Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Post by mjb » Fri Aug 20, 2010 1:59 pm

dogslife wrote:Thinks: Am I seriously considering deliberately creating a fault? :shock:
Unplug some sensor like the IAT and fire up the engine. That'll store a permanent fault (it's how I realised I'd left mine unplugged last time :oops:)
<steve_earwig> I think this forum is more about keeping our cars going with minimal outlay than giving our cars more reason to go bang

User avatar
Doggy
Mod with a 2.2 HDi, De-Fapped!
Posts: 10028
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:49 pm
Location: Northants

Re: Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Post by Doggy » Fri Aug 20, 2010 5:17 pm

On the same page here, Matt - was thinking, disconnect MAF, (cos I did that once when I didn't have anything to clear it with). :oops:
2003 HDi 2.2 6-speed Exec Estate

User avatar
mjb
Site Admin
Posts: 7972
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 9:06 pm
Location: Stoke

Re: Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Post by mjb » Fri Aug 20, 2010 5:37 pm

Checked on mine, and it just goes ahead and clears the faults! Hmm :(
<steve_earwig> I think this forum is more about keeping our cars going with minimal outlay than giving our cars more reason to go bang

glennethwest
1.6 8v
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:22 pm
Location: Dewsbury

Re: Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Post by glennethwest » Fri Aug 20, 2010 5:56 pm

I don't know what it is then.

I've used two different laptops with fresh installs and updates and it always does the same thing.

I wonder if it is a hardware problem??? I'll email the bloke on ebay that I got it off and see what he says.

The strange thing is that it clears faults on every other section but the Engine section.

Weird! :roll:

PS. If anyone in the Dewsbury, Wakey, Hudds, Leeds etc. area have a fault get in touch. I could test the equipment on your car to see if it works.

glennethwest
1.6 8v
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:22 pm
Location: Dewsbury

Re: Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Post by glennethwest » Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:01 pm

Further update...

I tried the same hardware and the Lexia software on my Dad's Citroen (yes, I used the correct software) and it came up with the same "Service" menu and also gave the Comms error.

Maybe it is the hardware?? :roll:

User avatar
Doggy
Mod with a 2.2 HDi, De-Fapped!
Posts: 10028
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:49 pm
Location: Northants

Re: Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Post by Doggy » Sun Aug 22, 2010 6:54 pm

Right Glen, I've managed to duplicate your problem. 8)

I tried following your sequence, (which I've copied below, with some comments). I got the same Comms error, though I never had it before and for a while I couldn't clear a fault without getting it, but I think I've got it straight now......

First I created a fault, by disconnecting the turbo air pressure sensor & starting the engine - this gives ANTIPOLLUTION FAULT & constant EML
glennethwest wrote:This is a transcript, for want of a better word.

Select 406 from first screen.
Select 406R.
Select Peugeot Planet 2000.
Enter buidl code - 9564.
PP2000 starts with cogs and does vehicle ID and config.
Select ECU configuration and services.
Select test by ECU and then Engines/auto gearbox.
Select Diesel and then RHZ Bosch EDC15C2.
I am asked to switch on ignition and connect computer to device.
Click Fault Reading which list my two faults. I click F6 and then F1 on each one to so that they are both read.
Then press F1 to go back to Tests menu and click on Clearing of fault code(s).
I am informed that I must have read the faults and I press F3 to confirm.
At this point, I tried exiting from the mileage entry busines & got the Communications error. :roll:
glennethwest wrote:I am told that "Before erasing the fault(s), an after-sales zone must be completed.
At this point, I clicked 'OK' three times e.g. enter & confirm a mileage of 0.

I them got a prompt asking me to switch ignition off. wait 5 seconds & turm ot on again, click 'OK'.

PP2000 then completes the fault clearing process - go back in, read the faults again, should be clear.

Give that a try -if it still doesn't work, I guess we could go through it simultaneously, while comparing notes over the phone.......
2003 HDi 2.2 6-speed Exec Estate

glennethwest
1.6 8v
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:22 pm
Location: Dewsbury

Re: Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Post by glennethwest » Sun Aug 22, 2010 7:25 pm

I've given it another go and it's still giving me the same problem.
I am informed that I must have read the faults and I press F3 to confirm.

At this point, I tried exiting from the mileage entry busines & got the Communications error.

glennethwest wrote:
I am told that "Before erasing the fault(s), an after-sales zone must be completed.
When I exit from the page asking for mileage etc by using F7 I am automatically sent back to fault reading page and presented with the two faults.

When I exit that page I am immediately asked if I want to clear the codes and whne I click OK the software says that faults are cleared - but they aren't. And I'm not asked to do anything with the ignition.

My software version is V 09.B (22.12).

I've searched Google for ideas but there is nothing. Most comms errors are related to fuses and the inability to communicate with the ECU altogether - which is not the problem I am having - it only comes up with this when clearing ECU faults, not any other section.

User avatar
Doggy
Mod with a 2.2 HDi, De-Fapped!
Posts: 10028
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:49 pm
Location: Northants

Re: Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Post by Doggy » Sun Aug 22, 2010 10:09 pm

glennethwest wrote:My software version is V 09.B (22.12).
Mine is v 09.A (21.14) you can probably find a download for this version if you want to try it.
2003 HDi 2.2 6-speed Exec Estate

glennethwest
1.6 8v
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:22 pm
Location: Dewsbury

Re: Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Post by glennethwest » Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:09 am

I found an old copy of PP2000 and installed it but I still get the same error and it does the same sequence. :evil:

User avatar
Doggy
Mod with a 2.2 HDi, De-Fapped!
Posts: 10028
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:49 pm
Location: Northants

Re: Lexia gives Comms Error when clearing ECU faults

Post by Doggy » Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:11 pm

Glen, I'm struggling to come up with any other suggestions - the obvious thing is to get together with someone else who has a working system and compare notes. I can't think who else on here has a Lexia interface, apart from mjb, (who's in Stoke), there have been others, but not sure if they're still around.

You could try posting on the coupe club, (there's definetly a few members on there with one), or maybe peugeotcentral.co.uk.

It really doesn't sound like yours is faulty, since it will do so many other things correctly. I managed to get mine to generate the same problem too, so you can't help but think yours should work if you get the sequence / timing precisely right.

If you want to try going through the operation simultaneously while comparing notes over the phone, I don't mind giving it a go - send me a PM if you want to try.
2003 HDi 2.2 6-speed Exec Estate

Post Reply