FAO Doggy - Remap questions

Talk about the 406's electrical system, what wires do what, how to add extra functionality, etc.

Moderator: Moderators

fitzy89

FAO Doggy - Remap questions

Post by fitzy89 »

I'm fairly new to modding but have a moderate mechanical and electrical understanding of cars and I've now been tempted with mapping and some other bits.

I've been recommended to chat with Doggy on here and I hear he's a top lad!

I've got a 2002 406 HDi 90, currently with 172k on the clock and completely standard. I recently saw a 110 at a breakers yard and got tempted with the intercooler, haven't bought it yet but just looking for opinions really.

I understand to get the full advantage of an intercooler I would need to be remapped and have it all adjusted to suit, I also blanked off the EGR a long time ago so having EGR delete at the same time seems like a good idea.

I'm not looking for or expecting massive performance gains but just give it a little push would be nice and any fuel economy improvements are always welcome too. I guess my main questions are, at 172k miles is it getting a bit too old to be playing with things like this? And which remap is the most suitable for it, from reading up I would think a stage 1 120bhp would be suitable but I've also read that you need a stage 2 to support the intercooler. Is it possible to have an intercooler with a stage 1? I don't plan on upgrading the clutch or anything else major or expensive (at least not for the foreseeable future due to finances) so I wouldn't want to push it too far really, I suppose a decat probably wouldn't cost much if needed.

What are your thoughts?
Doggy
Mod with a 2.2 HDi, De-Fapped!

Re: FAO Doggy - Remap questions

Post by Doggy »

Hi & welcome aboard. 8)

First off, I don't know a lot about HDi 90's. :oops:
Yours will almost certainly have a Siemens fuel system, so it's not as easy to tweak as the others with their Bosch systems.